Kundalini Meditation And The Seven Chakras

Kundalini meditation is derived from a Sanskrit word that literally means “curled up like a serpent” and is viewed by the ancient Indian yoga meditation as an unconscious force.

What is Kundalini Meditation?

Kundalini MeditationKundalini meditation is believed to draw its energy from the base of the spine, perceived as a coil of power that unravels deep within us. Upon awakening, this energy is said to ascend like a serpent through the spinal channel, known as the “Sushumana” and the seven Chakras. Many experts say that even a single session of kundalini meditation can help one achieve the supreme personal empowerment.

The Concept of Kundalini Meditation

The concept of kundalini meditation is derived from the Indian philosophy of yoga.  It may involve one or more of the following:


  • Strict yoga postures. This is aimed to provide physical fitness.  In kundalini meditation, find a position that is comfortable for you. The straighter your back, the better as it helps the energy to flow more easily through your body.
  • Intense breathing exercises. This is aimed to enhance the life force (Prana). Breathing is very important in kundalini meditation. Mediators who practice this in their kundalini meditation perform it by inhaling through the nose and exhaling through the mouth. They believe that by doing so will help them focus more on their breathing and ensure that sufficient oxygen is delivered to the brain.
  • Contemplation.
  • Chanting of mantras. Mantras are words or phrases that are repeatedly chanted during prayers or meditations.

The Seven Chakras in Kundalini Meditation

In the ancient kundalini meditation tradition, there are seven distinct energy source centers inside the body in the spine and the brain itself. These are called “chakras”. Chakras are not just symbolical beliefs. As a matter of fact, these are real energy processes inside our body regardless whether we’re aware of them or not.

1. Root/Earth Chakra. Located at the base of your spine, it is the energy pathway between the mental, spiritual world and the organic Mother earth. Meditating with this chakra during kundalini meditation will allow you to become more powerful, more solid and more grounded at physical levels of survival.

2. Sexual Chakra. Located in your sexual organs, this chakra is activated only after the first chakra is complete which is usually completed during puberty. The sexual chakra makes you more matured and ready to becoming parents of a new generation. Meditating with it can enhance your sexual charge while providing spiritual vitality to your sexual interactions and feelings.

3. Power Chakra. This chakra is associated with anger, combustion, fire, joy and laughter. It lies between the solar plexus and the navel and is believed to create a mythical fire in the belly. Power chakra is the energy of the solar system that radiates in our personal lives. In addition to that, this chakra plays a very important role in kundalini meditation particularly in balancing our emotional and physical conditions.

4. Heart Chakra. Known as the guiding light, this chakra is located in the center of the chest. The heart chakra helps the third chakra (power chakra) to be used in loving ways, the second chakra (sexual chakra) to manifest sexual energy through love and the first chakra (root/earth chakra) to merge the spiritual with the physical. If you will notice, being the 4th chakra, it is then between the first (earth) and the seventh (heaven) chakra. It is the center of all the emotional energy of the universe – known as love.

5. Communication Chakra. This chakra is located in the larynx and the thyroid gland. The communication chakra is known to be the center of communication which allows us to talk and express our inner views and thoughts to the people around us. In kundalini meditation, vocalization plays a vital part. In fact, it is the vehicle for kundalini meditation awakening.

6. Intuitive Chakra. The intuitive chakra is located in between and above your eyes. Commonly, it is referred to as the “third eye” – the true foundation of wisdom wherein your thinking mind comes in contact with your intuitive mind. The sixth chakra also influences the pituitary gland, an endocrine gland situated at the base of the brain and thus dictates the entire functioning of the body and the mind at higher levels. As you focus the energy to this energy center, you can balance the nervous system by alleviating various depressive patterns, overcoming distorted reality perception and paranoia. At lesser levels, on the other hand, headaches can be caused by imbalances in the intuitive chakra. The same is true with different visual problems and nightmares.

7. Crown Chakra. Located at the top of the head, this chakra is light years beyond the lower forms of chakras. As a matter of fact, the true nature of this seventh chakra is beyond our knowledge and comprehension as humans. That is why, it is advised that when you do practice kundalini meditation, do not push yourself into the seventh chakra of consciousness as this will only come to you when both your body and your mind is prepared for such infinite union and realization. However, it is important that you spend a little time on this energy center while doing kundalini meditation.